APICAM2019 wouldn’t be possible without the hard work and expertise of the Organising Committee. They have all pulled together to find the best plenary and keynote speakers and ensure the conference addresses the pressing issues of today and tomorrow.

Conference Co-Chairs

Professor Jianfeng Nie (Monash University)

Jian-Feng Nie received his Bachelor of Engineering from Beijing Institute of Technology in 1986 and his PhD from Monash University in 1993. Currently a professor at Monash University, his current research interests cover physical metallurgy of magnesium and aluminium alloys, applications of scanning transmission electron microscopy in materials characterisation, and processing-microstructureproperty relationships in metallic alloys.

He has co-authored one book on light alloys, published one book chapter in the 5th edition of Physical Metallurgy, co-authored over 150 papers in major international journals, and edited proceedings of several major international conferences. He was awarded the Marcus Grossmann Young Authors Award of ASM International in 2006, AIME Champion Mathewson Medal Award of TMS in 2015, and TMS Extraction and Processing Division Technology Award in 2017.

He is the editor of Metallurgical and Materials Transactions, former Chair of Phase Transformations Committee of TMS, and chair of the National Events Committee of Materials Australia. He chaired several international conferences, including the 7th Pacific Rim International Conference on Advanced Materials and Processing (PRICM-7), which was held in Cairns in 2010.

Distinguished Professor Ma Qian (RMIT University)

Dr Ma Qian is Professor and Deputy Director of the Centre for Additive Manufacturing (AM) at Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology. His current research centres on metal AM, solidification, and powder metallurgy.

He co-developed “The Interdependence Theory for Grain Formation in Solidification” (Acta Mater 2011;59:4907; 2010;58:3262), which is being applied to metal AM today, and a novel SLM process for Ti-6Al-4V (Acta Mater 2015;85:74), and also with his team, identified massive phase transformation in AM Ti-6Al-4V (Acta Mater 2016;104:303). He co-authored the 5th edition Ian Polmear book Light Alloys: Metallurgy of the Light Metals (2017, Elsevier) with Ian Polmear, David StJohn and Jian-Feng Nie, and edited two Elsevier books on titanium with F. H. Froes.

With his collaborators and students, he has published 202 journal papers, which have resulted in the Australian CAST-CRC Industry Partner’s Award (2002, inaugural), TMS Magnesium Technology Award (2003), ASM Henry Howe Medal (2006), the Australian ARC CoE for Design in Light Metals best paper awards (2012; 2103) and five other awards. He initiated the biannual international conference on Titanium Powder Metallurgy in 2011 (co-sponsored by Materials Australia, TiDA, TMS, JSPM and CSM). Currently he serves as an Associate Editor for Acta Materialia and Scripta Materialia.

Conference Secretaries

  • Dr Andrey Molotnikov (Monash University)
  • Dr Tingting Song (RMIT University)

Organising Committee

  • Ms Tanya Smith (Materials Australia)
  • Professor Milan Brandt (RMIT University)
  • Dr Leon Prentice (CSIRO)
  • Mr Stefan Gulizia (CSIRO)
  • Dr Alex Shekhter (DSTG)
  • Dr Qianchu Liu (DSTG)
  • Professor Nick Birbilis (Australian National University)
  • Professor Huijun Li (University of Wollongong)
  • A/Professor Daniel Fabijanic (Deakin University)
  • Dr Jonathan Miller (US Airforce Research Laboratory) 
  • Matthew Young (Innovative Manufacturing CRC Limited)  
  • Dr Mitchell Sessso (LaTrobe University)
  • Professor Kenong Xia (University of Melbourne)  
  • Professor Dietmar Hutmacher (Queensland University of Technology)
  • Professor Mingxing Zhang (The University of Queensland)
  • Professor Yongxiang Li (RMIT University)
  • Prof Simon Ringer (University of Sydney) 
  • Associate Professor Dongbin Wei (University of Technology Sydney) 
  • Professor Shoujin Sun (Griffith University)                                    

Further Information

For further information about APCIAM2019, contact Tanya Smith on tanya@materialsaustralia.com.au or +61 3 9326 7266.